Irregular People….got any in your life?

In my younger days, I was insecure enough that I felt responsible for the times when other people seemed unhappy with me or something I was doing. There were a couple of people in my life that could always find fault or ways to be disagreeable, no matter what I did.

I purchased a book called Irregular People by Joyce Landorf – it really changed my life by changing how I viewed myself and other people. I came to realize that God was the one that I was to please, not humans. And if everything was OK between God and me, then other people just had to accept it.

I’ve recently been dealing with a person close to me who is as irregular as one can get. In fact, a regular Jekyl-Hyde personality.

On good days, IP [Irregular Person] is a very giving, caring person who tries to help those in need, care for those not well and pleasant to be around. On bad days, IP disagrees with everything you say in an angry, hateful way. Then IP remembers everything IP’s ever done for you and uses it like a club to beat you over the head with and let you know what a terrible, unappreciative human you are. Of course, IP feels sorry later and uses excuses like not feeling well, didn’t understand, etc. or IP says IP doesn’t remember what was said.

I usually don’t say a lot in response; but on my bad days, I do respond in anger. I want to be a better person that that, but some days, I’m not.

I highly recommend this book if you have an IP in your life.

– – – – – – – – –

QUOTE FOR IRREGULAR PEOPLE [and the rest of us, too}:

The best years of your life are the ones in which you decide your problems are your own. You do not blame them on your mother, the ecology, or the president. You realize that you control your own destiny.

– Albert Ellis (1913-2007, American Psychologist)

4 thoughts on “Irregular People….got any in your life?

  1. Wow! Thanks for this post! I actually read this book 20+ years ago (because of an IP in my life) and was googling the title so I could order it for a friend….that’s how I came across your blog. These IPs all seem to have the same descriptions. Even today as I continue to struggle with my IP, I was encouraged by your post.

  2. Jackie,

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I think the hardest thing for me was accepting that nothing I did was going to change the IP.

    My current IP and I have been trying to take care of some business together the past couple of weeks, so I can relate to your continuing struggle. We’ve had to spend much too much time together lately.

    I am grateful to have found this book though, because it really did help me. I may have to dig my copy out and read it again. Good luck to you.

  3. Pingback: Fat and Ugly « culture vs content

Leave a Reply

