CLUELESS PEOPLE

Why are people so clueless sometimes? Why does CP (Clueless Person) insist on telling me about things I don’t want to hear about and say I have absolutely no interest in?

For instance, I don’t watch the news anymore. It upsets me (and makes me angry) to hear about all the terrible crap going on in the world, politics drive me crazy and I just don’t like a lot of TV shows.

I am not saying that I don’t want to know what’s going on in the world. I like to look at the news headlines online and choose the ones I want to read. And I do have many favorite TV shows that I do not miss. I even watched parts of Michelle Obama and Hillary Clinton’s speeches.

So, tell me, why do the following types of conversations keep happening?

  • CP: Did you watch “insert name of TV show? last night”
    ME: No, I don’t like that show.
    CP: Well, you should have seen it last night. It was really good.
    {Then proceeds to tell me all about the show I just said I didn’t
    like.}
  • CP: Did you see “insert name of opinion show I’m not interested in” last night?
    ME: No, I’m tired of all the political crap on TV.
    CP: Well, “insert name of commentator or boring guest” was really (choose one or two: funny, stupid, interesting, long-winded) and
    he said ……and so and so said…..and on and on.

Why? Why?

7 thoughts on “CLUELESS PEOPLE

  1. I think your sense of humor is great! Maybe because it’s so much like mine! I rarely watch TV, have never really been a fan even when I was much younger than my 75 years now. I did watch tonight, but on C-Span so there was no one telling explaining everything, disecting everything as though I was too much of a mindless idiot to know what I was seeing and hearing. And someone would probably saying, Bad Mommy to me, too!

  2. Thanks for your comments, Sylvia.

    I’m afraid not everyone “gets” my sense of humor. I’m glad you do and “The Kid” does – just shows I raised her right!

  3. I’m with you. We don’t have a TV anymore, but people who know that still say “did you see that show?” Drives me nuts. I’m not a movie person either, andI’ve established a rule with my grandchildren that they are not allowed to tell me about any movie or TV show they’ve watched. I want to hear about them and their lives, not TV/Movie people.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today!

Leave a Reply

