“I’M YOUR MOTHER, NOT YOUR…”

Thanks to Absolutely Bananas for this writing prompt.

A few years ago, I would have finished this sentence with “servant.” However, as my knee problems have worsened, my daughter has been doing more and more of the errands and chores for me.

It has changed her view of our situation. I believe sometimes she sees me more as her dependent, especially since I quit work.

It probably has a lot to do with watching the grandparents get older and turn into different personalities as they aged. I think we’re both probably dreading the time when I will reach that point in life, but I have no intention of getting there for at least another 20 years. OK, Kid?

4 thoughts on ““I’M YOUR MOTHER, NOT YOUR…”

  1. What a sweet daughter you must have!
    Sometimes when I ask my two year old to get me something he will reply with “My don’t want to!”.

    I’ll tell you what though, he’s plenty good at telling me what he DOES want!

  2. My mama had ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease) and was dependent on us for years before she passed away when I was in my early twenties. But I can honestly say that it was a joy to care for her, as she had once done for me. And I’m sure your daughter feels the same way.

Leave a Reply

