HAVE PEOPLE GONE CRAZY?

From FOXNews.com: Walmart Worker Dies in Black Friday Violence

Black Friday took a grim turn when a Wal-Mart employee in New York died after bargain hunters broke down the doors to the store.

The 34-year-old male employee was pronounced dead one hour after shoppers broke down the doors to the shopping center in Valley Stream, N.Y., and knocked him down at around 5 a.m. Friday, police said.

“He was bum-rushed by 200 people,” Jimmy Overby, the man’s 43-year-old co-worker told the New York Daily News. “They took the doors off the hinges. He was trampled and killed in front of me. They took me down too … I literally had to fight people off my back.”

A 28-year-old pregnant woman was also taken in for observation and three other shoppers suffered minor injuries during the incident, police said.

Wal-Mart Stores Inc., in Bentonville, Ark., would not confirm the reports of a stampede at the Valley Stream outlet but said a “medical emergency” had caused them to close the store.

“Local authorities are looking into the situation,” said Wal-Mart representative Dan Fogleman. “Until such time that they’ve completed their assessment it would be inappropriate for me to share any additional information.”

Shoppers around the country lined up early outside stores Friday in the annual bargain hunting ritual known as Black Friday. It got that name because it’s historically been the day when stores broke into profitability for the full year.

Many stores open early and stay open late. The Valley Stream Wal-Mart usually opens at 9 a.m.

Nassau County police were at the scene investigating.

2 thoughts on “HAVE PEOPLE GONE CRAZY?

  1. wow, Im going to go shoot myself in the foot in the McD’s parking lot tonight because they have lots of money too. Its no secret what these things are like…yet a pregnant woman decided to join the throng of people panting and grinning because they will save $20 off of a dvd player? I agree that the employee should have been looked after by walmart, the rest shot themselves in the foot. Hey, for those of you without a crystal ball, next year its going to be the same deal. Lots of poeople trying to get into the same space….please dont blame the lot your standing in when you make a stupid decision.

  2. I read in the news that the dead employee’s siblings have already filed suit against Walmart and the Mall owners. I would have thought that the grieving process would have come first.

    I’ve never been to a Black Friday sale. I had always rather work an extra few hours and pay full price for an item than to fight crazy crowds.

    I guess at my age, I just have a hard time believing that people can be so uncaring about each other that they push and shove without regard to the results of their actions. To me, this is crazy – thus my title for the post.

    Walmart should have been better prepared – I’m not sure exactly how though – I’m sure they didn’t expect people to tear down the doors to the building.

    The people waiting shouldn’t have turned into wild animals. No bargain is worth that.

    And that’s my opinion on that!

Leave a Reply

