THEN SINGS MY SOUL: CHILD, YOU’RE FORGIVEN

CHILD, YOU’RE FORGIVEN

I came to Jesus
I took my Stand
But what I’d surrendered
was back in my hands
Defeated by failures
haunted by fears
I cried out in anguish
“My God, are you here?”

Chorus

He said child you’re forgiven
forgiven and free
he said it, I heard it
Sweet victory
The future can never
intimidate me
since I’ve been forgive
forgiven and free

I’m resting and growing
in His strong embrace
I’ve traded performance
for amazing grace
My soul is at rest
oh, but I still must rejoice
When I think of the day
that I heard His voice

What a relief,
Because I can’t earn my way
When I come up empty
My father pays
I’m learning to live,
And I’m learning to die
And one of these days
I’ll be learning to fly

Chorus

5 thoughts on “THEN SINGS MY SOUL: CHILD, YOU’RE FORGIVEN

  1. Too often I think I’ve surrendered something to the Lord, only to find I’ve picked it up once again. I want to fully trust Him for He is trustworthy. I always enjoy listening to the Gaithers. The words to this song are wonderful and so helpful to me. Thank you for taking the time to write them out for us. What a blessing this Saturday morning!

  2. Hi!
    I just thought that your readers might enjoy a video by Canadian gospel singer Stephanie Mainville.
    Stephanie has recently placed second in the 2009 Radio Star songwriting competition. She has also been nominated for an ECMA and has won several national Gospel awards.
    You can see her perform a live version of her song Nowhere here: http://serfcitysj.wordpress.com/
    Mike Parker

Leave a Reply

